License Global is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

TOTY Winners Named

The Toy Industry Association presented industry leaders with twelve Toy of the Year awards and inducted two industry veterans into the Toy Industry Hall of Fame at the 12th annual a ceremony in New York City last week.Arnie Rubin, founder and chief execut

Arnie Rubin, founder and chief executive officer of Funrise Toy, and the late Frederick August Otto Schwarz, founder of FAO Schwarz were inducted into the Toy Industry Hall of Fame.

LeapPad Explorer by LeapFrog Enterprises was named Toy of the Year, and was awarded Educational Toy of the Year and Preschool Toy of the Year. 

• Activity Toy of the Year - LEGO Ninjago Fire Temple by LEGO Systems.

• Boy Toy of the Year - Hot Wheels Wall Tracks by Mattel.

• Game of the Year - Angry Birds Knock On Wood Game by Mattel.

• Girl Toy of the Year - Fijit Friends Interactive Figures by Mattel / Radica.

• Infant/Toddler Toy of the Year - Elefun Busy Ball Popper by Hasbro / Playskool.

• Innovative Toy of the Year - Hot Wheels Wall Tracks by Mattel.

• Outdoor Toy of the Year - Rockboard Scooter – Mini by M.Y. Products.

• Property of the Year - Angry Birds by Rovio Entertainment / Striker Entertainment (licensing agent).

• Specialty Toy of the Year - HEXBUG Nano Hive Habitat Set by Innovation First Labs.

"Tonight’s event was a wonderful way to celebrate the launch of Toy Fair week and recognize the absolute best in toys and children’s entertainment," says Carter Keithley, president, Toy Industry Association. "Thanks to the outstanding work of the talented individuals and innovative companies honored tonight, kids around the world are brought joy each day through play!"

Back to Toy Fair 2012 Round-up

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.