Disney Restructures Exec Team

As a part of its pending acquisition of 21st Century Fox, The Walt Disney Company has made key organizational changes to its Media Networks divisions, conditional upon the transaction.
License Global

October 11, 2018

Disney Restructures Exec Team

Peter Rice will become the chairman of Walt Disney Television and co-chair of Disney Media Networks.

The new group under Rice will include ABC Television Network, ABC Studios, the ABC Owned Television Stations Group, Disney Channels, Freeform, Twentieth Century Fox Television, FX Networks and FX Productions, Fox 21 Television Studios and the National Geographic channels.

Dana Walden will take on the position of chairman of Disney Television Studios and ABC Entertainment. Her charge will include Twentieth Century Fox Television and Fox 21 Television Studios, as well as ABC Entertainment, ABC Studios, Freeform and the ABC Owned Television Stations Group. Walden currently serves as the chairman and chief executive officer of Fox Television Group. John Landgraf will serve as chairman of FX Networks and FX Productions.

Gary E. Knell will work as chairman of National Geographic Partners.

Ben Sherwood, co-chair, Disney Media Networks and president, Disney / ABC Television Group, will remain in his

current role through the acquisition.

“The strength of 21st Century Fox’s first-class management talent has always been a compelling part of this opportunity for us,” says Robert A. Iger, chairman and chief executive officer, The Walt Disney Company. “Upon completion of the acquisition, this new structure positions these proven leaders to help drive maximum value from a greatly enhanced portfolio of incredible brands and businesses.”

Read more about:

Subscribe and receive the latest news from the industry.

Join 62,000+ members. Yes, it’s completely free.

You May Also Like




This site uses cookies to provide you with the best user experience possible. By using License Global, you accept our use of cookies.