All-American Girls Professional Baseball League Bobbleheads Unveiled

Collection commemorates the championships won by six different teams during the league’s history.

License Global

October 27, 2023

2 Min Read
All 6 AAGPBL Champions Bobbleheads, The National Bobblehead Hall of Fame and Museum
All 6 AAGPBL Champions BobbleheadsThe National Bobblehead Hall of Fame and Museum

The National Bobblehead Hall of Fame and Museum has unveiled the officially licensed, limited-edition AAGPBL Champions Bobblehead Series. In honor of the 80th anniversary of the AAGPBL, the bobbleheads commemorate the championships won by six different teams during the 12-year history of the league from 1943 to 1954. The National Bobblehead Hall of Fame and Museum, in conjunction with the AAGPBL, is producing the bobbleheads.

The AAGPBL Champions Series includes the four-time champion, Rockford Peaches (1945, 1948, 1949, 1950), two-time champion, Grand Rapids Chicks (1947, 1953), Racine Belles (1943, 1946) and South Bend Blue Sox (1951, 1952) and one-time champion, Kalamazoo Lassies (1954) and Milwaukee Chicks (1944).

Standing on a circular logo base bearing each team’s logo and name, the smiling AAGPBL player is holding a bat while wearing the team cap and uniform – a one-piece short-skirted flared tunic with a team patch in the center of the chest – with the distinctive team colors. Each bobblehead is standing beside replicas of the championship trophy or trophies won by the team. The bobblehead backing includes the team and league logos and the year of the championship season or seasons.

Each bobblehead is individually numbered to 1,943 for the year the AAGPBL was founded. They are available through the National Bobblehead Hall of Fame and Museum’s Online Store, the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum in Cooperstown, New York and select stores in regional markets.

Founded by Philip K. Wrigley, the AAGPBL existed from 1943 to 1954 and was the forerunner of women’s professional league sports in the U.S. Over 600 women played in the league, which consisted of teams in the Midwest. The 1992 fictional movie, “A League of Their Own,” told the story of the AAGPBL’s founding and play. It brought renewed interest in the AAGPBL and the women who played professional baseball. The Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, N.Y., has a section dedicated to the AAGPBL and women in baseball.

“We’re excited to unveil bobbleheads of the six teams to claim championships in the 12-year history of the All-American Girls Professional Baseball League,” says Phil Sklar, co-founder, National Bobblehead Hall of Fame and Museum. “The women who played in the AAGPBL were role models and paved the way for women in professional sports and beyond, and we think these bobbleheads are the perfect tribute.”

Read more about:

GlobalNorth America

About the Author(s)

License Global

License Global is the leading news source for the brand licensing industry, delivering award-winning editorial content including news, trends, analysis, and special reports about the global consumer product and retail marketplace.

Through its print edition, website, daily e-newsletter and event publications, License Global reaches more than 150,000 executives and professionals in all major markets. The magazine also serves as the official publication for the sector’s trade events, which include Licensing Expo, Brand Licensing Europe, Licensing Expo Japan, Licensing Expo Shanghai and the Licensing Leadership Summit.

Subscribe for updates directly into your inbox.




Subscribe and receive the latest news from the industry Article
Join 62,000+ members. Yes, it's completely free.

You May Also Like