The new eSports league will feature North American soccer clubs like Chicago Fire, Colorado Rapids, New York Red Bulls, Toronto FC and more

April 6, 2018

1 Min Read
Major League Soccer e-sports League

NORTH AMERICA–Major League Soccer and EA Games have joined forces to launch the eMLS, a competitive eSports league that will compete within the “EA Sports FIFA 18” game.

Initially, the eMLS will see 19 MLS clubs participate in the new eSports league including Chicago Fire, Colorado Rapids, Columbus Crew SC, FC Dallas, Houston Dynamo, LA Galaxy, Minnesota United FC, Montreal Impact, New England Revolution, New York City FC, New York Red Bulls, Orlando City SC, Philadelphia Union, Portland Timbers, San Jose Earthquakes, Seattle Sounders FC, Sporting Kansas City, Toronto FC and Vancouver Whitecaps FC. Furthermore, each club will develop its own process in selecting players from its region to represent it in eMLS competitive play.

eMLS will also feature eMLS Cup, a competitive gaming event that will see each club’s player compete for an automatic entry in the “EA Sports FIFA 18” Global Series Playoffs as part of the FIFA eWorld Cup 2018.

“We’re honored to partner with MLS within the ‘EA Sports FIFA 18’ Global Series as we continue to help grow competitive gaming and soccer in North America,” says Todd Sitrin, senior vice president and general manager, competitive gaming division, EA. “We engage millions of soccer fans daily through FIFA and attract many more who view our competitions around the world. With the eMLS, we accelerate our growth as players compete on the road to the FIFA eWorld Cup 2018.”

eMLS Cup will debut this April at PAX East, April 5-8.

Subscribe and receive the latest news from the industry Article
Join 62,000+ members. Yes, it's completely free.

You May Also Like