NY TOY FAIR: Industry Honors Year’s Top Toys

Toy executives and industry leaders from around the world gathered in New York Saturday night to honor the year’s winners at the 14th annual Toy of the Year Awards.

Hosted by Toy Industry Association, the event kicked off the 111th American International Toy Fair, taking place this week in New York City.

The Rainbow Loom from Choon’s Design was the runaway success of the evening, taking home the overall Toy of the Year award and prizes in three additional categories. Meanwhile, social media and Super Bowl ad sensation GoldieBlox and its Spinning Machine snagged the People’s Choice.

The event also saw the induction of five individuals into the Toy Industry Hall of Fame: Jill Barad, former chairman and chief executive officer, Mattel; Horst Brandstätter, president and sole owner, Playmobil/Geobra Brandstätter; Jack Friedman, former chairman, chief executive officer and co-founder, Jakks Pacific; and Arthur “Spur” Melin and Richard Knerr, co-founders, Wham-O Toy.

TOTY Award winners were selected with the input of consumers, retailers (mass and specialty), media and members of the toy industry. The five ballots were weighted and used to determine the category winners, with the exception of the People’s Choice award, which was selected exclusively by consumers.

The winners include

  • Activity Toy of the Year: Rainbow Loom (Choon’s Design)
  • Boy Toy of the Year: Despicable Me 2 special feature Minion Dave talking action figure (Thinkway Toys)
  • E-Connected Toy of the Year: LeapPad Ultra (LeapFrog Enterprises)
  • Educational Toy of the Year: GoldieBlox and the Spinning Machine (GoldieBlox)
  • Game of the Year: Boom Boom Balloon (Spin Master)
  • Girl Toy of the Year: Rainbow Loom (Choon’s Design)
  • Infant/Toddler Toy of the Year: Big Hugs Elmo (Playskool)
  • Innovative Toy of the Year: Zoomer (Spin Master)
  • Outdoor Toy of the Year: Razor Crazy Cart (Razor USA)
  • Preschool Toy of the Year: DocMcStuffins Get Better Check-Up Center (Just Play)
  • Property of the Year: Minecraft (Mojang)
  • Specialty Toy of the Year: Rainbow Loom (Choon’s Design)

Add new comment