LIMA Announces Awards Nominees

The International Licensing Industry Merchandisers’ Association has unveiled the final ballot for its 2014 International Licensing Excellence Awards, which features a record 118 nominees in 20 categories across the licensing, retailing, promotion and consumer products arenas.

This year’s nominating season was the biggest ever, with a total of 360 entries, a 36 percent increase from 2013. Nominations came in from 16 countries, including first-time nominees from India and Korea. 

The 2014 ballot introduces two new categories–Digital/New Media and Location-Based or Experiential Initiatives, and also makes Celebrity licensing a classification of its own, separate from Film and Television.

The other categories in which awards will be presented are Character or Toy Brand, Art or Design, Sports or Sports-Themed Entertainment, Corporate Brand, Film, Television or Entertainment, Retailer of the Year and Best Licensed Promotion.

Additionally, an award for Overall Best Licensed Program, representing each of the major property classifications, will honor one of these nominees:

Overall Best Licensing Program Nominees:

  • Angry Birds Star Wars–Rovio Entertainment and Lucasfilm
  • Dena–Dena Designs
  • Doctor Who–BBC/ BBC Worldwide Americas
  • Duck Dynasty–A+E Networks/Brandgenuity
  • Monster High–Mattel
  • One Direction–Global Merchandising Services
  • PGA Tour–PGA Tour/IMG Worldwide
  • Stanley Black & Decker–Stanley Black & Decker/Beanstalk

LIMA members can cast their vote at from now through May 14. The winners will be announced at the LIMA Opening Night Awards Ceremony at Licensing Expo 2014 on June 17.

“This year’s awards nominees represent a diverse and creative cross-section of the licensing business that has entertained and delighted consumers with product, promotions and activities true to their brands,” says Charles Riotto, president, LIMA. “The LIMA International Licensing Excellence Awards program was designed to honor the achievements of the best, most innovative programs in our industry, and I am excited about both the record number of submissions and the breadth of this year’s nominees.”

Click here for a full list of nominees.