License Global is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Aconyte Books, Fantasy Flight Games Collab to Publish ‘Arkham Horror,’ ‘Five Rings’ Novellas

Four new collections of their Arkham Horror and Legend of the Five Rings novellas will begin releasing this fall.

Asmodee Entertainment have announced that Aconyte, the fiction imprint of Asmodee, have partnered with Fantasy Flight Games to publish four new collections of their Arkham Horror and Legend of the Five Rings novellas, starting this fall.

Originally published as limited-edition hardbacks, this is the first time these stories have been available in a mass-market edition.

“Fantasy Flight Games is excited that Aconyte is collecting our novellas for the first time in trade paperback format and is offering these stories to a wider audience,” says Katrina Ostrander, creative director, story and setting, Fantasy Flight Games. “The Dark Origins collection is the perfect introduction to the investigators from the acclaimed ‘Arkham Horror’ board and card games, and all of these novellas were crafted with input from the FFG designers on the Arkham Horror story team.”

The first title, Arkham Horror: Dark Origins, is written by a quartet of tie-in fiction authors and will be published in the U.S. and Canada on October 19 and on December 18 in the U.K.

In addition, The Legend of the Five Rings setting brings fans The Great Clans of Rokugan, collecting three published novellas together for the first time, as well as a brand-new unpublished novella. The volume features the Clan stories Ice and Snow, The Sword and the Spirits, Whispers of Shadow and Steel, and Across the Burning Sands. Written by mixture of established Legend of the Five Rings fiction authors and members of FFG’s story team, The Great Clans of Rokugan will publish in the U.S. and Canada on November 23 and on January 21, 2022 in the U.K.

These first volumes will be available in trade paperback and ebook formats. Unlike FFG’s original limited-run novellas, these story collections will not contain game cards. Two further collections are planned for spring 2022. A variety of translated editions are being planned with Aconyte’s European publishing partners.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.